Oh Look! A Penny!

So I got a whole crap ton of Convergence stuff for cheap – some from a guy on Kijiji, some from a store closing and some from a Gypsy who gave it to me for free in exchange for my mortal soul but joke’s on her, I already sold it for a Klondike Bar – and that was the first time I ate a whole large Blizzard from Dairy Queen. Wait… what was I talking about? Shit. Okay. I had this great idea to once again change paint styles thereby differentiating between two factions and a new one… so don’t know how to end that sentence either.

I’m a big fan of the Borderland’s games. For example, when Nick – Nick of this very podcast fame, friends since childhood – introduced it to me, we played it for 10 hours straight. Later we played it for a few hours gay but being so fabulous is exhausting so we switched back. In Borderlands there are several gun manufacturers such as Tediore, Daul, Hyperion and each have there own colour scheme. One of them is called Maliwan (“Get a Maliwan and light some people on fire!” – Marcus) which uses a great scheme of dark blue, dark gray, orange and white which looks amazing. I decided that it would look great on my newly acquired Convergence models.

DSC03511

It didn’t look bad but it also didn’t look great. I wasn’t happy.
The colours are awesome however what the style relied on heavily was asymmetry which isn’t conducive to a lot of models especially Convergence sculpts. I never finished painting the model because I realized quickly that it wouldn’t work. Luckily, I had a back up scheme that was “more me.”

DSC03596

Oooookay. THERE it is! I’m grit and I can’t deny it. That’s what I learned from 4 years of illustration and design: never be something you’re not. And I’m FILTHY. I love how this looks but the best part is that it took no time at all. What I need to do is build a couple Convergence lists so that I know what units/solos/vectors I need to finish them and then we might very well see our first Convergence match on this here website thingy.

Algorithmic comparison

3 thoughts on “Oh Look! A Penny!

  1. Beautiful work, Aaron! I’m with you with your love of Borderlands (although, sadly, I own it on the XBox so we can’t play together… *pouts*…) but I also agree that your second version looks much better than your first.

    A question: For the cloth, is there a reason you picked a brown-tone instead of something that stands out a bit more? If it were me, I’d have picked something sharply contrasting (like a purple?)… most armies are defined by 2 or 3 contrasting colours (my Menoth in white-yellow and purple-red, Cygnar is blue and yellow, etc…).

    Or are you using the glowy blue areas for contrast? They look fantastic, by-the-by! Can’t wait to see ’em on the table!

    • Originally I left the blue I used for the first one as the cloth colour but I didn’t like how it looked plus it would be fighting with the light blue for the lights.

  2. Wow. The new scheme is a direct 180 from the original. It looks great but I really liked what you were trying to do with the first scheme. I think it just needed some tweaking.

    The new one is not bad either but I think it needs some contrast. It looks a bit like a bronze statue with some lights on top at the moment.

Leave a Reply

