The Journey to Painting: A Noob’s Quest pt 2 and 3

So between last night and today I did a couple of things. First of all, I painted the areas I wanted to do the fire effect from in a brightish yellow. My reasoning behind this is it’ll make color pop through the glue I’m going to use, making my fire more realistic and vibrant. A common misconception, or rather, a painting error I commonly see is that people make their fire dark red at the bottom and lighten it on the way up. Real fires start bright at the source and get darker. I applied three coats and let it set for the night.

image image_1

image_2 image_3

Now for the third part of my journey. I grabbed my trusty tube of E-6000 and started squirting it everywhere! I applied it to one area at a time and used a wooden skewer to poke and raise areas while holding a blow dryer on low about a foot away to help set it quick enough so the spikes didn’t flatten out.

image_4 image_5 image_6 image_7 image_8 image_9

I’m going to let this settle and harden over night, then I plan on adding a coat of paint on the glue and then adding another layer of glue to get more pronounced flame effects in certain areas.

One thought on “The Journey to Painting: A Noob’s Quest pt 2 and 3

  1. I will grant that this is definitely the most interesting modification I’ve seen to a Tiberion… the glue is certainly a fascinating idea! And it definitely has potential!

    Can’t wait to see how it turns out, Kassem!

Leave a Reply

