Printed Playmats for MERCS minis

As you may remember I backed the MERCS Recon Kickstarter last year mainly because I was interested in the MERCS tabletop skirmish game.  There are a number of active users on the MERCS forum who have posted some really awesome 2D maps for use with MERCS (Most notably HawtKarl and armoredgear7 and I’m sorry if I have missed anybody).  IMG_5060 copy

Usually I am much more of a fan of 3D terrain but I had to at least give these a chance.

I had these custom printed by BannerBuzz.ca.  They printed each of them as a 2’x3′ Vinyl banner. I have to say that I was pretty impressed at how good they looked.  The vinyl has a nice flat texture and has a nice soft feel so that minis cannot slide around on it.

IMG_5053 copy

Initially they wanted to roll up at the edges but if you store them printed side out they sit perfectly flat without an issues.IMG_5054 copy

I haven’t used them for a game yet but I am looking forward to it.  I love the aesthetic of 3D maps, but for tournament play I can definitely see how this kind o f thing can be a great benefit. IMG_5055 copy

2D Maps can provide a large amount of well balanced tables very inexpensively.  I got 4 of these printed for $36 including shipping.IMG_5056 copy

The jury is still out on MERCS as I am waiting for the 2.0 Ruleset to come out and the Kickstarter minis to come in but if it’s good I will definitely use these for local MERCS tournaments

IMG_5057 copy

2 thoughts on “Printed Playmats for MERCS minis

Leave a Reply

