Ginger BatRep 002 – Round 2!

Well Nick and I are at it again Circle vs. Legion style.  The last time we clashed, I stole a scenario win with a lucky roll. This time I am using eKrueger, while Nick reached for eThagorosh.  Both of us are practicing our OTC lists, as more practice is never a bad thing.  (Especially when I look back on my last outing with eKrueger.)

DSCN0633

Nick’s list was:

Thagrosh, the Messiah (*3pts)
* Naga Nightlurker (5pts)
* Raek (4pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Angelius (9pts)
* Scythean (9pts)
* Scythean (9pts)
* Seraph (8pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Succubus (2pts)
The Forsaken (2pts)
The Forsaken (2pts)

DSCN0632

I don’t need to go too deep into his list, as he has talked about it on previous podcasts.  Suffice to say that it packs a LOT of hitting power with the two Scytheans & Angelius, excellent support pieces/fury management, and an excellent selection of animus’ (animoose?) to help his army or Thagorosh himself.  Nick said he was a little concerned for this match, as I selected…

Krueger the Stormlord (*5pts)
* Gorax (4pts)
* Ghetorix (11pts)
* Warpwolf Stalker (10pts)
Druids of Orboros (Leader and 5 Grunts) (7pts)
* Druid of Orboros Overseer (2pts)
Shifting Stones (2pts)
* Stone keeper (1pts)
Shifting Stones (2pts)
Blackclad Wayfarer (2pts)
Blackclad Wayfarer (2pts)
Druid Wilder (2pts)
Gallows Grove (1pts)
Una the Falconer (3pts)
* Rotterhorn Griffon (3pts)
* Rotterhorn Griffon (3pts)

DSCN0634

Seven Beasts against of of the best (if not the best) scenario caster in the game, well you gotta practice your hard counters.

This list is designed around scenario play.  Between the feat, TK, and Druids it can be amazingly difficult to effectively control/contest a zone.  The stones (despite the recent errata) remain as ever a danger to increase threat ranges as well as fury management.  While Una, who has great protection in this list, combined with the Blackclads, adds some amazing anti-infantry options.  This is a solid all-comers list.  (If I were to tech against Legion, or if eKrueger ever ended up in the Active Duty Roster, I would drop Una and her Griffons and add in a Ferral.)

I won the roll and opted to go second, looking to see if I could steal some early control points.  After everything was deployed, Nick started his timer and we were off.

DSCN0636

Legion Turn I

Nick starts by advancing both aggressively and conservatively, not wanting to be locked out of scenario but not wanting to give up a heavy to the Druids turn 1.  So most things advanced to safe positions just outside the zones.  The exception is the Rake who runs full tilt towards the wall near the middle of the table.

DSCN0638

Tenacity went everywhere, if I remember only the Serraph didn’t receive the Shredder’s animus.  Thagorosh advanced to the edge of the forest and put Dragon’s Blood onto one Scythean, while the cleanup crew (the Forsaken) came last taking as much fury as was available.  Nick ends his turn feeling pretty good.

DSCN0640

DSCN0641

Circle Turn I

Lets spill some Blighted Blood.  I briefly thought about trying to drag the Scythean on my right in, but between the concealment from the forest and Tenacity I opted for the safer route.  The Druids advanced and used Summon Vortex, Counter Magic, and Elemental Mastery.  Even though his beasts can ignore those clouds, they do not ignore the -2 to hit penalty and I planned on making things as hard as I could for Nick.

DSCN0642

The rest of the army followed up behind.  Una cast watcher and advanced with her battlegroup, which stuck to the flanks with their best friends the Blackclads.  Krueger cast Stormwall and advanced forward, TK’ing Ghetorix (who warped for Hyper Aggressive) forward a bit.  The Stalker warped Prowl and advanced behind the cloud wall.  Lastly the Wilder and Gorax advanced and riled.  Thus ending my turn.

DSCN0644DSCN0645

Legion Turn II

Nick up keeps Dragon’s Blood for free, takes his fury back and begins.  Thagorosh begins, advancing to the far end of the forest, casts Manifest Destiny and Feats.  (A tenacity was probably cast too.)  The Serraph wants to take some shots on the Stones, but is in Stormwall range, so can’t make the distance.  The Raek advances into the clouds and starts swinging for the fences.  Despite needing 10s to hit, Nick is able to clear out the two Druids blocking the path to the Stalker.  (Ruh-Roh.)  The Scythean charges the Stalker, once again needing 10s to hit.  Much to my disappointment, the combination of boosting and Manifest Destiny lets the Dragonspawn easily dispatch my wolf.  (Didn’t even need his bloodbath attack to do it!)

DSCN0646

Over on the other flank, Nick’s second Scythean charges into the Griffon, who uses watcher to advance away and not die a horrible horrible death.  He takes his remaining swings on the stones, killing one from each unit.  The Angelius advances and takes a shot, failing to do anything game changing.  Lastly the janitors move up and manage the fury on the beasts.

Nick ends his turn and begins his feat moves.  For the most part everything backs away.  He’s ahead in the trades by getting my Stalker, but there’s no reason to stand in front of Ghetorix and tempt fate.  The Raek advanced forward into Krueger in an attempt to keep him locked in place.  He attacks and hits, doing eight points of damage, which I elect to take. Nick ends his turn and passes things over to me.

DSCN0647DSCN0648

Circle Turn II

I take back in my fury and get ready to begin.  I’m starting to hear those voices again, the ones that tell me I can get two of his heavies right here.  Both of his Scytheans are tantalizingly close to each other.  Then I look behind and notice Thagorosh has been left, pretty open.  I start to formulate a new plan.  Both of the Griffons get primal.  (One from the wilder, one from the Gorax.)  Una advances forward and casts Dogpile on the objective.  At dice -5 the first Rotterhorn almost scraps it itself, leaving it on two or three boxes, but getting lit on fire for its trouble.  The second Rotterhorn, who probably didn’t need primal, charges and finishes it off.

The Gallows Grove advances forward to assist with spells.  Krueger charges the Scythean, as I’m pretty sure the Grove is too far back for what I am planning.  He TK’s Thags out of the forest and has him do a 180.  Then he casts Primal onto Ghetorix through the grove.  The Druids go next and pull Thagorosh as close to the wall as they can, getting a crit in the process.  The blackclad tags Thags with Hunter’s Mark, allowing G-Rex to charge in and easily dispatch the Messiah of Everblight…

Except that’s not exactly how it went.  For some reason I cocked up the order of activation and used the Druids first.  To lighten Kruegers load?  I don’t know.  As you may or may not know, Ghetorix does not have pathfinder, so the wall was a problem and Thagorash was not within two inches of the wall.

DSCN0650

So a little disappointed in myself things went back over to Nick who promptly applied blight to face.  (That sounded dirtier than it needed to.)

DSCN0652

VICTORY TO LEGION!

Right idea, wrong way to do it.  Once again the Druids could have been my salvation, but I used them improperly.  Not taking away from Nick at all, who played a solid game and kept the pressure up.  (Probably knowing what would have happened if he let off the gas.)  Despite this mistake costing me the game right away, instead of a drawn out loss, I felt better about this one.  What I had planned should have worked.  I rolled it out (for my curiosity) and did 57 points of damage to Thags, who only had two transfers.  Oh well, I’m a Leafs fan so I’m used to saying “there’s always next time.”  So until then, Stay luck my friends.

P.S.  I have started the 365 points in 365 days challenge.  Stay tuned for my progress as I finally get my armies painted.

2 thoughts on “Ginger BatRep 002 – Round 2!

  1. Great report, Todd! Thanks for sharing it!

    Coincidentally, I hereby declare “#animoose” to be the appropriate multiple animus pluralization. So it is hashtagged, so it will be done.

    You’re getting better with your eKrueger, keep at it! I’ve gotten WAY better with pHaley since locking into the OTC lists (to the point where I feel comfortable dropping my pHaley list against everything shy of Fist of Halaak or Runes of War!), and there are definite improvements in your use of the finicky warlock. And definitely more practice with Druids!

    • Dwwwaaaa, Thanks Marc. It’s a weird thing being better with the supposed crappier casters. For example, Kromac and I do not get along. Although with the teaser image of what is undoubtedly eKromac I feel renewed vigor!

Leave a Reply

